PDA

View Full Version : CD Spyware or what??


Bernadina
12-23-2006, 06:33 PM
All of a sudden I'm getting this message when I log into the forum. Anyone got any idea what this is? Thanks.

GypsyKaren
12-23-2006, 08:32 PM
I'm no computer guru, but I can tell you it's not from us. Maybe do a sweep for spyware?

Karen

julia4692002
12-23-2006, 08:39 PM
I suggest that you get some good anti-virus software ASAP. A friend of mine had a spyware attack, and I can't get the PC working any more. Try Dr Nortons or Kaspersky

marie354
12-23-2006, 08:44 PM
I've seen this type of thing a couple of times and sent then a nasty E-Mail.
I guess there are no rules on harmless advertizing worms. They don't cause any harm that I've found, just annoying. It soon disappered after I E-Mailed them and gave them a piece of my mind. I thought that is was a dirty trick!
:hugs:

Bernadina
12-23-2006, 08:50 PM
The funny thing is that it only appears over and over again when I'm in this forum and at no other web site. Done the AV, spyware and registry sweeps but still comes up.

marie354
12-23-2006, 10:09 PM
I dunno... I'm on Comcast, and they provide excellent virus, spam and spyware protextion. If you have windows XP... Goto help & support and look for restore. You can back-up to a previous time when it wasn't happening.
Hope this helps.
:hugs:

Tamara Croft
12-24-2006, 06:39 AM
That's an advertising company, I'll email admin to make sure it's not one of our ads causing the problem, highly unlikely, but I'll look into it. In the mean time, manually remove any cookie that has metricsdirect from your PC and also any temp files.

DanaJ
12-24-2006, 08:35 AM
Are you using any toolbars in your browser? Especially Hotbar or Zango? If so, there's your problem....

Sharon
12-24-2006, 09:49 AM
Metricsdirect.com is Zango. Your problem lies with them.

Theresa(TGirl)
12-25-2006, 12:34 AM
Zango sucks big time, I had my computer get infected once or twice, and somehow my sister's computer got hacked too. So it's not this site.

Bernadina
12-25-2006, 02:38 AM
Well at 10PM or so local time the problem went away. I did nothing to make it disappear.

Thanks for everyone's ideas and suggestions.

It appeared to be tagging along with my access to crossdressors.com somehow and no other site. I don't use any of the addon tool bars at all.

I did check the logs for my point of entry to the LAN spyware filtering and did see that it had logged a blocked event to IP address 64.94.137.102 everytime the error message had popped up which was a couple of times every minute.

Alaceann
12-25-2006, 04:17 AM
It comes up on mine sometimes but I won't download it for fear of a virus. It looks to be like an ad for anti virus softwear but I don't trust it. A reputable site won't be trying to hyjack a site like this ad tries to do.