Thread: Don't know what to do

What is normal anyway? Rianna Humble's Avatar

Don't know what to do

I have been under-dressing at work for a couple of months now and on dress-down days have been pushing things a little but with next to no reaction from the majority of people at work.

Last Friday was the staff Xmas party for the office where I work (about 300 people were at the party). I was sorely tempted to go en femme but thought this might not be the right occasion to come completely out of the closet, so I just had a fresh manicure and pedicure although I had to cover up the pedi with my man shoes

One of the grils who works in my manager's other team complemented me on my nails and said that she had hoped to see me wearing something "a bit prettier".

Later in the evening, I pressed her for an explanation and she said that she has noticed me wearing tights under my trousers and other things and that she thought it a pity I had not dressed "in a way that would make you feel comfortable" to come to the party.

I desperately want to come out of the closet at work but there are personal circumstances outside of work that would make going 24/7 impossible.

Can I (or even should I) approach management about dressing for dress-down days? How do I explain that I want to dress Friday through Sunday but not Monday through Thursday? Is that what I want?

I know that we have anti-discrimination laws in the UK, but what if my decision makes my co-workers uncomfortable? Should their discomfort prevent me from being myself?

Come to that who am I? How can I even envisage half the week as Le Rosbif and half the week as Rianna?

Please help, I am feeling desperate and just don't know what to do or what to think.
    Check out this link if you are wondering about joining Safe Haven.

This above all: To thine own self be true, And it must follow, as the night the day, Thou canst not then be false to any