Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Want to be able to help

Want to be able to help

I am a lawyer by trade - have been for 40 years - created a large private practice over the years. Because of my transition, my law-partner tells me that he is not going to practice law with someone like me - he says that people will no longer come to me for representation.

My gender therapists have asked me all kinds of legal questions regarding legal issues pertaining to the trans community. Up until now, I never really looked in to the law that pertains to our trans community.

Well, I have started to collect as much legal information as I can find, not only to answer many of my own personal issues, but also to help provide legal information to the trans community.

Once I get a little further along in my transition and see what I am going to be doing job/career wise, I would like to be able to provide legal counseling to the trans community - especially here in Kentucky, but a lot of this applies nationwide.

Is this type of service something that is needed in our community - or is this just a pipe dream ?

Maybe I could call it "ASK A TRANSSEXUAL LAWYER"

JoAnne Wheeler Bland
    Last edited by JoAnne Wheeler; 04-21-2010 at 05:25 PM.
    "I'm an all American Bluegrass Girl and Proud As I Can Be"

Sounds to me like you have your first case, discrimination towards you self by your law partner! i cant see why you wouldn't be needed though i bet there are loads of cases that should be brought to justice concerning the trans society

Lots of love Elizabeth XXX

You will often find me sleeping in

[SIZE="3"]The Ark Angel Inn[/SIZE] (traditional british pub)

Quote Originally Posted by JoAnne Wheeler View Post
    I am a lawyer by trade - have been for 40 years - created a large private practice over the years. Because of my transition, my law-partner tells me that he is not going to practice law with someone like me - he says that people will no longer come to me for representation.