Thread: How to walk like a woman... without excessive instruction!

Learning, growing, living brookalicious's Avatar

Smile How to walk like a woman... without excessive instruction!

Before we get started, I'm sure you've heard many different formulative instructions about how to walk like a woman. Quite frankly, I've read most of them, and they're all *very* accurate. My problem is that I just can't seem to get the details right. I feel like no matter how hard I try, no matter what I do, I'm just flailing my arms in no-woman's land... *sigh* Don't we all?

I was a personal trainer (in an undisclosed former life) and everything comes back to balance and body weight for me, so I tried to imagine what I could do to reproduce what a woman does to move so gracefully and delicately through... well... *everything*

So here is my silly-as-can-be, from the garage instructional method:

1) Take two equally sized chairs (or weights, if you want to be boyish)... they need to be about 15-20 pounds, ok?

2) Hold them out at your sides about three quarters as far as you can go. (No need to hurt yourselves, ladies...) I mean, don't hold them out like our Lord on the cross, just out enough that you know that they're there and you're forced to adjust for them...

3) Now walk.

Feel what happens on you lower body. Lift one foot off the ground as if you were going to take a step. What happens? Your weight suddenly shifts to that direction and you fall...

So you quickly bring your foot down and bright your weight over that foot. Your hip adjusts to handle your new center of gravity and your hips shift slightly. Now take another step... same thing...

This is how a woman walks... her steps have to be smaller and quicker. A girl also has to use her hips and waist to center her weight over her legs because her weight is spread so much farther out than a boy...