Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A different perspective on female stereotyping

A different perspective on female stereotyping

There has recently (and, let's face it, perpetually) been some discussion on whether crossdressers oversimplify women. Another issue that keeps coming up is that we may assign women characteristics that we then emulate, even though the characteristics are not really feminine. I am talking of course about the "housekeeping when dressed" issue.

Example threads:
    http://www.crossdressers.com/forums/...ng-a-role-play
    http://www.crossdressers.com/forums/...usehold-chores

This problem comes up in other communities as well. I am a gaming enthousiast and amateur game designer. There is a video series I watch called "extra credits" that discusses issues in videogame design. They have a video that I think deals with the same core problem that we are dealing with here: LINK.

They are looking at something very familiar (creating a meaningful and realistic female character) from a very different perspective. It seems that crossdressers are not the only people who have problems in this area!

The best of both worlds Kathi Lake's Avatar
    Right there. To your left. No, your LEFT! Yes, that's it. Hi.
    Agreed. Many of us do tend to stereotype, generalize, and oversimplify women. Some say that it is all for "fantasy" but if your fantasy is to act in a manner that demeans women, that is so sad. Do you not have any strong female role models? Are women just baby-making, housecleaning, sexualized things? Is that role what you would hope your daughter would aspire to?

We say that we adore and idolize women here, and strive to emulate them, and then I see things like the threads you mentioned. Again, I think it's kinda sad.

Just my $0.02, of course. Take it for what it's worth.

Kathi