Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The change from Wrong to Just Different

Utah, north of West Jordan, south of North Salt Lake & west of South Salt Lake

The change from Wrong to Just Different

I was trying to remember when I made that mental jump where Crossdressing moved from being Wrong to being Just Different. I had been dressing infrequently for many years and had slowly been expanding my collection of clothing and accessories. It was still "wrong" as I began to take my things with me when I traveled for work and even to my first meeting with other crossdressers. It was a day or two later on the way home it hit me and I accepted my crossdressing and rejected the Wrongness that had been weighing me down. That was about 11 years ago and I've been much happier, most of the time, since that weight was banished.

Have you been able to make that jump? If so, what were the circumstances that helped?
    Sarah
    Being transgender isn't a lifestyle choice. How you deal with it is.

I don't think I ever saw it as "wrong". It was just something I did. Okay at first I did not understand the real reasons behind WHY I did it - whereas now I do. But it was not wrong, I knew it was not "normal" and therefore something to be kept private. Even now I accept it is not "normal" as in not something mainstream society does openly - it is just what I do and frankly I have no issue with that at all.

It's funny, I just posted a new entry to my tumblr blog when I came on here and saw this thread. The entry is titled "Yeah, I get that it's weird." And is talking about the people who I encounter who seem to think I don't understand that I dress weird. But I talk about how being weird is better than being ashamed or hiding.
    -------------------------------------------------
    ~Riley
    Check out my trans themed standup on YouTube!

My Tumblr Blog