Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Should I come out to my doctor?

Banned Read only

Should I come out to my doctor?

So I need to go in for a physical. I'm suffering a LOT of anxiety. I'm on an emotional rollercoaster. I'm not dealing that well with being transgendered, at least not yet. (Hey, I'm new at this - I'll probably improve!)

I think I should probably disclose all this to my regular MD when I see him - this seems pretty significant, even if there's not much for him to do about it at the moment.

What do y'all think?
    Would you tell?
    Anyone have any negative outcomes from telling their physician? (I wouldn't think so, but it doesn't hurt to ask.)

I am considering a much less delicate speech for my physician than what I've prepared for my wife.

Thoughts anyone?

BTW, were it not for the anxiety and mood swings and general craziness (how have I not been banned from here?!?) I wouldn't feel the need to mention this at all to him, at least not yet.

I wouldn't. But only because what is he gonna do, its not a medical problem. At least not until you are ready if ever to transition and become TS. The best he can and likely will do is advise you to find a gender therapist I would imagine. But I don't trust people generally so I may and probably am worried about nothing.
    Last edited by Sylvermane; 04-05-2013 at 01:37 AM.
    How often do you daydream about finding a genie's lamp...

Banned Read only
    I think your wife should be the first one you tell. IF she turns out to be accepting, you are likely not to NEED to confide in or tell him. Or maybe anyone else? It may turn out you might be happy simply dressing at home? No way for you to know, is there?

IF your wife "approves" I think you will have far less trouble telling ANYone you think needs to know?
    Last edited by Wildaboutheels; 04-05-2013 at 02:25 AM.

Banned Read only
    Quote Originally Posted by Wildaboutheels View Post
    I think your wife should be the first one you tell.