Thread: A first?

I'm not new, just quiet lizbendalin's Avatar

A first?

By career I am a pastor.

This last week I accepted my next called position. What is interesting is that I have been out as transgender the entire search process. The church hired me knowing that I am somewhere on the spectrum between crossdresser and transsexual.

This last weekend when I was there to do the trial sermon and have in-depth conversations in person I was wandering around with my shaved legs and brightly painted toenails out in the open. In fact, at one point in the process, one of the members of the search committee said she could care less if I, "started the service in one gender and ended it in another." Now, that is not likely to happen, but it's nice to know they are fully accepting.

The church was at one time a big downtown church, but has shrunk in numbers in recent years. I start the job in January. All of you are welcome, and will be embraced as the person you desire to be. We will be the voice for progressive, pro-LGBT, pro-justice Christianity in Eastern Ohio. Feel free to join us at Zion United Church of Christ in Steubenville, OH.
    It's not that I want to be a girl, or I want to be a boy; I want to be me!

My Facebook profile

There's that smile! CarlaWestin's Avatar
    I'm not sure if it's a first but, it's certainly enlightening. I admire your peaceful coexistence of faith and proclivity.
    I've waited so long for this time. Makeup is so frustrating. Shaking hands and I look so old. This was a mistake.
    My new maid's outfit is cute. Sure fits tight.
    And then I step into the bedroom and in the mirror, I see a beautiful woman looking back at me.
    Smile, Honey! You look fabulous!

Gone to live my life
    Hi Liz,

What a wonderful story and thanks for sharing. I can only guess having such a welcoming flock will make you job that much more pleasant.

Hugs

Isha