Thread: recent experience regarding pronouns while at work

recent experience regarding pronouns while at work

You know, it seems that after the interview with Bruce Jenner. And being that I work as a 1:1 behaviorist at an elementary school, that is part of the Gay Lesbian Straight Education Network. A lot of my coworkers, parents of kids that I interact with, and school bus drivers; have come up to me more. To ask me questions regarding many different issues; such as the whole gender and sexual preference, that's all so confusing; pronouns; and how I would personally like to be addressed.

While I don't mind having these conversations with coworkers and parents, which can be a bit tricky sometimes. There's a fine line you don't want to cross, especially with parents. It's nice to know that those around me seem curious enough to ask questions. And in some way it gives me the feeling that I'm making a difference in/for my community.

Just yesterday, while I was having lunch with classroom in the cafeteria. One of the students, who was already having a difficult morning, began to misbehave. Causing one of the custodians, who has dealt with this student before and knows the parents, to come over and talk to the student. As the custodian was talking to this student, he began mentioning all of the adults in the classroom (there's 5 of us) that the student needs to listen to.

After the custodian mentioned all the other adults. He then turned to me to ask what my name was again (he knows who I am, but not my name). Now because I am still showing up at work as a guy. Albeit, in a more androgynous form. I looked at him and said William.