Thread: Post Graduate Level Career transition in the US

Post Graduate Level Career transition in the US

I saw a similar thread with someone heading to Canada so I apologize if this is too similar a topic but I also didn't want to seem like I was hijacking a thread from someone else. Anyway, I'm a graduate student studying in the sciences and I'm a little lost on how to proceed. I study at a public university in a very conservative part of the country. I hope that my career allows me to stay in academia as I love to teach. My problem is though that I'm not out yet and I'm not sure what that will do for my career. Has anyone had experience with transitioning in academia? I'd love to talk and learn about others' personal experiences. There's so much that comes to mind. Should I come out before I graduate and move on to a new university? Would it be wise to change my name considering the published papers I'm already on (my legal name could be gender neutral)? Could a professional, yet religiously conservative advisor remain unbiased during a dissertation defense? Would there be complications due to bias in peer-reviewed journals? Clearly, I have many questions. I want to come out before I graduate because I want to be able to graduate as my authentic self. I've already started HRT and don't know if I want to continue hiding it anymore. Thanks for reading!

http://www.capitalnewyork.com/articl...n-her?page=all

http://ai.eecs.umich.edu/people/conway/LynnsStory.html

And that was just a quick Google search. Next step for you is to talk to the Department head where ever you are
    The earth is the mother of all people and all people should have equal rights upon it.
    Chief Joseph
    Nez Perce

“Love isn't a state of perfect caring. It is an active noun like struggle. To love someone is to strive to accept that person exactly the way he or she is, right here and now.” - Fred Rogers,