Thread: Closeted teachers

Closeted teachers

I'm a teacher (at a large public school in Canada) who CDs and ventures out about once a month to a meetup with a group of other CDs and trans folk. We normally meet at a gay pride centre and then go to a bar that hosts a drag show. However, some of us haVe expressed a desire to go to a local coffee shop to meet, instead of the bar (less noise and more conversation). One of my biggest fears is bumping into or being recognized by a student or former student of mine.

First, I'm wondering if there are any other teachers on the forum? And If you are a teacher, have you ever run into a student while dressed?

One of my CD friends said, "They'd only recognize me if I walked up to them and asked if they have their homework done." Maybe I worry too much.

Depends on what protections you have under the law. If you cannot lose hour job for being transgendered it is awkward but nothing more. I teach at university - i have run into students while shopping in the ladies section but not dressed - nothing came of it.
    Last edited by bridget thronton; 05-01-2016 at 12:21 PM.

Silver Member
    Public school in Canada? Our right to not be discriminated against for being LGBT is pretty solid, isn't it? It seems you have a teaching opportunity on your hands. In seeing you dressed, a teen would get perhaps his first view of what a real CD looks like, as opposed to the myriad negative examples and misconceptions he has already been exposed to.

Silver Member
    If crossdresser estimates are 10% of the male population, then approximately 10% of male teachers crossdress, so there are probably many other professors, teachers and school administrators who are members of this site. And thank you all for the important job that you do.