Thread: Starting hormones this week

Starting hormones this week

I'm so relieved and excited to have an appointment Wednesday afternoon with an endocrinologist. She is at Vanderbilt University Hospital and helps many transsexual individuals. I've been dressing openly since 2010 and now is the time for me to begin addressing the deep-seated gender disconnect that's haunted me since age six or seven. Sometimes I wish I was a crossdresser and could find peace on that path. With hormones, I'm hoping to lessen my dysphoria and possibly see some small changes to my body. My expectations for physical change are really low, as I know hormones don't reshape the face, shrink the Adam's Apple, or change the voice. I detest the sight of my private parts so I'm hoping for shrinkage. I don't care about sexual function, believe it or not. I just want to feel more comfortable in my skin.

That sounds like all reasonable expectations.
    Congrats...big time.

Awesome! The thing about low expectations are they're easy to meet. I have similarly low expectations and have been delighted over the last few months. Congratulations.
    I am not a woman; I don't want to be a woman; I don't want to be mistaken for a woman.
    I am not a man; I don't want to be a man; I don't want to be mistaken for a man.
    I am a transgender person. And I'm still figuring out what that means.

Congrats and hugs, Amanda.

I'm right with ya. My expectations are similar. All I want is to feel human, and not something else.

My therapist was very impressed when I told her my expectations. I see her again in about another week, as well as my second visit with my Endo on the same day.

So far I have been impressed with how well I seem to be responding to the treatment.

I hope everything goes well for you and you are able to settle into your routine quickly.
    The source of fear is in the future
    And a person freed of the future
    Has nothing to fear