Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blue Collar Gurls?

Blue Collar Gurls?

I know this question has been asked in some form before, but I was wondering how many of us work in "blue collar" traditionally male jobs? Are you comfortable working in such jobs, e.g., do you think your co-workers would beat you to a pulp if they found out, do they make a lot of homo- or transphobic comments, etc.? Just wondering 'cause I'm thinking about embarking on a new career and haven't ruled out "da trades"
    Last edited by goofus; 06-18-2008 at 10:30 AM.

Not your typical girl Lissa Stevens's Avatar
    I work in a hospital maintenance dept. I have to be very low key as the guys can be brutal. When my nails have been too shiny I have been given some shit. If you do get into a traditional male job be careful until you know what's what.
    [SIZE="2"]Melissa[/SIZE]

[SIZE="2"]I'm still standin'
    Better than I ever did
    Lookin' like a true survivor
    Feeling like a little kid
    [/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by Lissa Stevens View Post
    I work in a hospital maintenance dept. I have to be very low key as the guys can be brutal. When my nails have been too shiny I have been given some shit. If you do get into a traditional male job be careful until you know what's what.
    I hear ya ... before I was shown the door I worked in a field that had a lot of men in it, and many of 'em were the hypermasculine "anyone that's different is bad" types (wonder how many of 'em secretly dressed or were attracted to men??), and I kind of want to avoid that if possible...

Actually most of the blue collar guys I work with, are Christian types. I had to lean to curb my language around them. And oddly enough, I've never heard one gay comment from them.

Yep i work in an all male environment (building vehicles) and there is a guy there who is slightly camp, boy does he get a lot of homophobic remarks.