PDA

View Full Version : Carrying vs. passing

Lisa Pomeroy
02-28-2009, 06:11 PM
Dear sisters,

I'm new to CD (a late bloomer)...preparing to visit the mall dressed in maybe a month or so, which will be my first time out in the "regular" non-CD world...and I've been thinking, maybe I don't actually feel I need to pass. Maybe I don't need to fool people into assuming I'm a woman.

What I'm thinking hard about is, rather than passing, I want to carry it. I want to present myself with such confidence that even if some random mall-goer realizes I'm a biological male under my dress and makeup and jewelry s/he won't care because I present bold and strong and free.

Is passing the ultimate goal? Or is better approach maybe to be a little more in the world's face and say by how we dress and walk and talk, "Hey, I'm a mix of genders, and I'm OK with that, and I'm going to be me here and now in front of you...so deal with it!"?

I've got the activist impulse, but still I'm still a newbie...sisters, what do you think?

Lisa

Nicki B
02-28-2009, 06:29 PM
You're pushing against an open door, here. :)

But you may find answers vary, depending on people's different definitions of passing (http://www.crossdressers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87757)..

Cary
02-28-2009, 06:59 PM
I'm behind you 100% on carrying. You should be able to show the world your true self. Please be careful and good luck! It's a big world with alot of small minds.

Sally24
02-28-2009, 07:36 PM
If you have the confidence than you can go in any direction you want. I prefer to pass but it doesn't ruin my day to get "the look". I just smile and keep on going.

Being exotic is just as fun as passing on a good day!

Shannon
02-28-2009, 08:11 PM
I have found that for me, all I want to be is comfortable and confident when I'm out. I know I will not pass when I'm interacting with someone. At the mall or other places, I might "pass" on first look (which is about all the looks I get, and I like it that way).