PDA

View Full Version : oh god why do i suck so much at applying nail polish

Rayna
06-22-2005, 10:18 AM
seriously.. i'm horrible at it. any tips?

Sharon
06-22-2005, 10:20 AM
Practice makes perfect. :)

Natalie x
06-22-2005, 10:31 AM
I'm in the Rayna camp - help, anyone!!

JoAnnDallas
06-22-2005, 10:33 AM
You should had seen mine when I started painting my nails. Another girl gave me a tip, use a cotten cuetip to take the exccess off. Works great for me. Also place the had that is to be painted on a flat surface, so you can steady your brush with you other hand, by resting the back of your palm on the surface. then practice, practice, practice.

Rayna
06-22-2005, 10:45 AM
You should had seen mine when I started painting my nails. Another girl gave me a tip, use a cotten cuetip to take the exccess off. Works great for me. Also place the had that is to be painted on a flat surface, so you can steady your brush with you other hand, by resting the back of your palm on the surface. then practice, practice, practice.

to make matters worse... i'm trying to do my toes!

MistyCD
06-22-2005, 04:01 PM
There is a secret when applying nail polish to your toes and finger nails. I learned this by going to a salon for a pedicure years ago. First of all, make sure you have some nail polish remover to take off what you put on, or mess up. . Some people use toe separators to keep the toes from hitting each other during the process. I don't use them.

Here are the steps to follow

1. shake the bottle for about 30 seconds, the person who did mine put the bottle in her hand and used a stirring motion versus a shake, but both should work.

2. Next, gently remove some of the polish that is in the brush by twisting it inside the neck of the bottle, a complete turn should do it. That seems to give you just the right amount of polish needed.

3. Apply directly to your big toe first, using simple up and down brush strokes