PDA

View Full Version : Needs Wig Advice

Lisa Marie
07-08-2005, 01:27 PM
When purchasing a wig. Are you supposed to go by your own hair color? Or do you just pick out any kind of color. Angie :confused:

Lindahexi
07-08-2005, 02:02 PM
Hi AngieMarie, there have been other threads on this subject, and I'm no expert, but I don't think it matters about your own hair colour, as long as you purchase a full wig, and none of your own hair will show. I have only purchased two wigs, one was a blonde bob, the other a long black one with centre parting. The blond one looked great, the black awful. So if possible going to a CD friendly salon that will let you try various styles and colours is the best way.

Julie York
07-08-2005, 02:34 PM
The fun of it is you can chose any colour you fancy. But you should maybe try one that suits your general colouring. If you have brown eyes go for a darker wig. If you have blue eyes try a lighter one.
It depends on the effect you are after.

DanaJ
07-08-2005, 03:59 PM
I agree! On of the fun things about wigs is that you can try differnt colors and styles - so experiment, have fun! Of course, some wigs and colors look absolutely horrible on me, and some look better....

DanaJ

liz lesbow
07-08-2005, 06:17 PM
Well I bought my first wig yesterday and also bought one for my wife. She chose a dirty blond color and matched her hair exactly. I chouse a light reddish auburn brown one that was about six shades lighter than my brown hair. It depends on you personal choice. I found out when I got home that mine goes good with the darker shades of lipstick but not well with pink (my favorite) or red (my second favorite) So now I will go back and buy a blond or dark brown wig so I can wear my favorite lipstick. .