PDA

View Full Version : Question for those who have transitioned at work

pamela_a
06-18-2009, 02:58 PM
How long before you transitioned did you start talking to your employer? I'm probably not going to completely transition for just over a year but I want to make sure I give them enough time.

Thanks.

-Pam-

dawnmarrie1961
06-18-2009, 05:36 PM
Fortunately for me I was a self-employed computer technician. The only people I had to explain anything to were my clients.Which was pretty easy, most of the time. I'd just say "...and what does the fact that I'm wearing a bra have to do with the windows operating system?" That pretty much shut them up.

Then I moved to corporate America. During my interview I would be completely honest. State my correct gender. Tell them that, "This is not going to be a problem because I will not allow it to be a problem." When asked if I needed any special considerations ,IE bathroom privileges,or to be called only by my feminine name, I told them "No. Just treat me like a human being."

janelle
06-18-2009, 05:42 PM
Hi Pamala, what I did was to start wearing nail polish(clear but high gloss) & then added a little eye make up & then prufume in a six month time period. I then told them & I happened to have just received my letter stating I should be using the ladies room. Thats when I called HR & said we needed to talk. Ok I did that thu our union steward. We meet & all went fine.
Good luck sweetie keep us posted on how it goes.

Hugs,
Janelle

Kimberly Marie Kelly
06-18-2009, 09:11 PM
Started wearing feminine pull on pants, then added blouses, then jewelry, then makeup, then nail polish, wearing ankle boots with heels over the last 9 month's now. Growing hair longer.