PDA

View Full Version : My Investigations of dressing at work

sandra-leigh
07-23-2009, 12:58 AM
There were some recent events in my life in which there was a possibility that knowledge of my dressing might become known at work, through the rumour mill.

I'm not ashamed of my dressing, and I've been stealth-dressing at work more and more for more than 2 years (pretty much all the time now) -- but I didn't want my workplace to be ambushed by the rumours and suddenly have to deal with them with no clue about the truth and no workplace plan as to what they would say; and I didn't want to be entering into that situation without any idea as to what was or was not officially acceptable at work.

I started by asking about the workplace dress code. It turns out that there is none, except that the clothes must be appropriate for the job at hand, and that some of the specialized equipment must stay in certain areas for safety reasons.

So, with that information in hand, I spoke (with assurances of confidentiality) to our Human Resources department. I was, I admit, in an emotional state and babbled more than I planned -- in particular I started that ideally I would like to sometimes be able to openly wear "female" clothes at work -- but that before doing that, I was planning to see a gender-therapist first.

I did speak about traditional difficulties such as "which washroom?", especially in transgender gender-fluidity cases such as mine where one day I might appear more male and another day I might appear more female.