PDA

View Full Version : Now I'm inspired....

Nicole_P
08-25-2009, 12:27 PM
Hey Everyone- I don't mean to keep showing you these letters from kids, and I won't do it any more as I feel others may think I'm tooting my own horn, but it's emails like this that just give me so much confidence in our youth. Truly amazing....

Dear Nicole,

My name is M. C. and I graduated from WLHS this spring. I have not had you as a teacher, but you had my sister K. in your Pre-Calculus class last year and I have seen you around the school. I am writing to express my support for you and your decision to start a new life as "Nicole." I strongly admire your strength, not only for making this life-altering change, but also for returning as a teacher at WL next year. I'm sure you know that you are going to have a rough year, but I know that you will get through it and come out stronger in the end. Keep close to your family, friends, and allies (and don't let the haters get you down!). Know that you are a beacon of hope who can inspire other GLBTQ people to not be afraid of being who they truly are.

Sincerely,

MC

And then he added this at the end-

"Whatever you do, you need courage. Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising that tempt you to believe your critics are right. To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires some of the same courage that a soldier needs. Peace has its victories, but it takes brave men and women to win them."
--Maya Angelou

"Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising which tempt you to believe that your critics are right. To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires courage."
--Ralph Waldo Emerson