PDA

View Full Version : Transgender and Military Organizations

Teri Jean
10-12-2009, 01:35 PM
As many of you know I am transitioning full time as a female and the first week at work was wonderful with plenty of support. But in prepartation for this event I came out to the American Legion both locally and at the district level as I was an officer in both. At the Post level I have been Post Commander and recently Sgt-at-Arms and with the District I was the Sgt-at-Arms and recently Vice Commander. Well with the support of each group I resigned my duties for the good of the order and walked out head high.

Today I recieved a wonderful e-mail from the District Chaplain about doing a piece on Transgenderism and what it means to those who are. Wow!!!!!! He had just done an article on the Muslim holiday Ramandon (sp) as he spent four years in the middle east and experianced it while there. So now with my revelation he is using his office to educate other Veterans on Transgenderism.
I spent the noon hour putting together a little of what I know from my study and therapy sessions to help others understand what this is for those of us who live this life style.

Obviously I'm not authority but am an expert (has been under pressure) who has lived with this for 50 yrs and just recently started to understand what, how, and why. I thought there are so many of us here that this would be of interest. When the article is written and published I will transcribe it here for you all to read and maybe we will break down another barrier for all of us.

Huggs Teri

claire2454
10-12-2009, 01:52 PM
Hi Teri

well i will wait for it to come out and will read with interest, as i am also an ex-military (British army).

i would also like to wish you good luck in your decision to go TG.