PDA

View Full Version : Self acceptance is the first step

minalost
12-07-2009, 03:32 PM
Hi ladies,

I've been reading your posts (and adding a few comments of my own) for about two weeks now and would like to say that the level of tollerance and acceptance I've seen had been great!

One issue I would like some feed-back on is self acceptance. I've been crossdressing off and on for about 35 years (yah, that makes me really old :tongueout ) and my biggest problem has been accepting my own crossdressing needs.

We've all been raised in a socielty that brainwashes most of us at an early age to believe that crossdressing is wrong; that CDers are defacto gay; that CDers are freeks... I'm sure I don't need to go on.

When I finally understood what my need to crossdress ment (I'm sure that at 12 I didn't really understand my fantacies...) I didn't know what to think. Was I gay? Was I some other sort of weirdo (turns out that part was true, but that's a different story :D)? I spent a lot of time in denial, and a lot of time hating my fem self.

The first time I fullly dressed for my wife I'm sure my own sense of guilt and embarrassment was fully transparent to her - and how could she accept something I so clearly did not?

The same thing applies to meeting straingers while dressed enfemme. I'm not talking about self confidence - though it's related. I'm talking about feeling guilt and embarrassment over being "caught" doing something "wrong." People can read that, and if you seam to think your doing something wrong then you must be!

Self acceptance is the first step to being accepted by others!

I hope our younger sisters have already figured this out (some of you sure seem to have, based on your posts), or that this post helps. Don't waste your youth hiding in fear. Now is the time to figure out who you are and to enjoy being yourself! Yikes! I hope that wasn't too preachy! :eek:

Thanks for listening and keep the posts comming!

Aidana
12-07-2009, 03:56 PM