PDA

View Full Version : Hearing your own voice

izzfan
12-20-2009, 03:46 AM
It was quite strange because recently I had a phone call where there was some kind of "echo" and I could hear my own voice. The thing is, it sounded nothing like how I imagined it would, for a start, it sounded a lot deeper and more of a monotone than I expected. It's true when peole say that most people don't really know what their own voice sounds like.

I'm sure there have been threads about voice before but it was quite disconcerting to say the least. No wonder I really can't pass that well.

nancyish
12-20-2009, 08:57 AM
Dear izzfan.im a musician and found i dont sound at all like I thought,my voice is way softer than I realised.(i'm constantly mistaken for a women on the phone )and yes i've pranked a few people.Recently at a tim hortons drive the thru i gave them my best and they called me "Mam"how sweet is that! you should've seen her face when she saw me!I still like to practise my voice and I pay attention to ladies voices,inflection and manerisms.Record your voice ,practise and enjoy.Nancy

sherri52
12-20-2009, 09:05 AM
I grew up in Boston and have a distinctive Boston voice. No matter where I go people can guess as to where I'm from. When I speak I sound deeper in voice to myself. When I hear my voice played back I can hear what everyone else does. I could never get a femme voice with that pitch.

aggi123
12-20-2009, 11:44 AM
I've been told I sound exactly like the actor Casey Affleck. I don't hear it.

Karren H
12-20-2009, 11:50 AM
Oh yeah... I've done a couple video tutorials for makeuptalk and though the girls there say I sound sexy... Ekkkkkk.. Just doesn't match the image I have for sure.. But then again I don't care much about passing and I usually just talk quieter and softer... Plus the checkout SA's take my money so if that's not acceptance I don't know what is? Lol.

NathalieX66
12-20-2009, 11:54 AM