PDA

View Full Version : Have I 'normalized' what I do?

DiannaRose
12-27-2009, 08:00 PM
My wife is having a hard, hard time with my crossdressing...even though she never has and never will see it. She almost can never look at me any more without thinking about "what I do" (her words). Today during the football game with family and friends she said she couldn't even look at me at all without thinking about it, and realizing that we're were the most "non-normal" couple there.

Now, that may be the case, but how do we know what the other people there are like in their secret minds? Okay, so compared to most of the population, I am not normal. I'm a writer...there's nothing normal about that, either. I'm a forty-four-year-old guy who still collects Star Wars toys. Normal? Not really. How many people truly are "normal"?

I see some 14,000 people around me here--a couple hundred of which are on-line even now, likely--around whom I am more normal than she'd like to think. So I guess "normal" is a relative term. Why is her idea of "normal" the only right one?

Unfortunately, relative to her life and experience, I am not normal. She grew up in a fairly abusive household...to me, that's not normal. She's pretty tough on our kids when it comes to schoolwork...C's are not an option...again, not "normal" in my experience. She sees no point in hobbies that don't result in some concrete value...and it has to be something that she values..."doing it just to do it" is not a viable reason to do it, for her. That, to me, is nowhere near normal. A hobby doesn't need a point, doesn't need to make money or fame or anything.

No real point I'm trying to make here...just trying to reconcile her problems with me. I get that she just can't accept this about me, just feeling a little blue about it, because I've never had any problem accepting things about others, including her.

Cathytg
12-27-2009, 08:06 PM