PDA

View Full Version : Hormones: Progesterone

kathrynjanos
02-15-2010, 10:35 AM
A question for the ladies:

I'm just starting out on my hormone treatments. After a lot of reading on the internets, I've been given the impression that progesterone may be a good option as an additional hormone (currently on Spiro and estradiol valerate inject in about a week). My understanding was that the progesterone would be useful in breast development.

The explanation I head was that estradiol and other similar versions will be responsible for the tubular development of the breasts, and progesterone will help with the "roundness" or fullness of development. Does anyone here have any experience or knowledge to that?

My doctor is hesitant to prescribe progesterone for me because there is limited belief in its benefit at their health clinic, and just more side effects to account for. I'm inclined to trust my doctor, but I really do want nice round breasts naturally, I'm hoping I'll be able to avoid surgery for that too.

Hope
02-15-2010, 05:05 PM
You have stated the question, the theories, and the unknowns very well. Unfortunately, what you know, is about all that anyone else knows... with the caveat that everyone seems to respond to hormones a bit differently. Progesterone is believed by some to significantly aid in breast development, preventing tubular breasts, and it is believed by others to have no effect what-so-ever, and is a needless risk and waist of money. Sadly there is NO definitive answer.

It seems to me though that putting a hormone in your body will have some effect... and that GG have progesterone in elevated levels at puberty for some reason... since puberty is what we are essentially trying to replicate (in part) for the first few years, it seems to me that adding progesterone makes a lot of sense. Of course I am not a doctor, and everyone has to make her own decision.