PDA

View Full Version : I remember him, but I don't remember his sister

pamela_a
07-04-2010, 10:03 PM
I did something today I'd felt compelled to do since I started my transition.

I can imagine many here would think me insane for even considering this but it was something I had to do. As a bit of background you need to understand that from 6th - 12th grade attended a parochial school which was part of a conservative, fundamentalist Baptist church and I graduated in the school's 2nd graduating class. In those 7 years I spent most of my waking hours in or around the school, church, or church activities.

This morning I dressed (print skirt, white blouse ;which was a little more sheer than I thought so my light pink bra was somewhat visible , my usual daily make up, earrings,& necklace) put on a pair of strappy heels, grabbed my purse and went to the church I'd grown up in but had only returned to twice since I graduated, both times to bury one my parents.

When I arrived and parked my car I sat for a minute and composed myself. When I got out of the car I stood tall, put a smile on my face, and walked confidently toward the doors.
As I entered the building I walked past 2 ladies sitting on a bench just inside the door. As I started walking past them one of them said "excuse me ma'am, are you visiting here?" I stopped and told them that I had been member of the church a long time ago but had not been there for many years. We chatted for a few more minutes then I excused myself to see if I could find anyone that I recognized.