PDA

View Full Version : Is the sky falling?

Dora Faye
09-25-2010, 03:27 AM
I'm very new to CDing and a lot of times I get this feeling that if I continue to CD something awful is going to happen. Like some sort of punishment or dire repercussion of my evil ways. I wasn't brought up in a religious household although I did adopt and practice a religion at one point and still do marginally. Coupled with that are thoughts that I should never have gone down this road and I can't get back to where I was, I'm just exhibiting an addiction and I'm going to wreck my life and everyone else's around me. How do I deal with all this???

SusieK
09-25-2010, 04:16 AM
Dora,

It sounds to me like the feelings you describe have names - guilt and/or shame

Hopefully you know from being on this site that CDing in itself is nothing to be ashamed or guilty about. There is nothing wrong with CDing, it's your body and mind and your(?) clothes and you can do what you want with them, and wear what you want. In terms of the activity itself - Enjoy :)

Are we agreed on that? sure? - OK then...

What can warrant a level of guilt and shame is the lies and deception, and this needs to be weighed against the likelihood and level of possible repercussions to yourself and those around you of being out.

You then need to determine what you are feeling guilty about. You say that you are new to CDing - how new? and does your wife know? If it's very early days, then you may still have a relatively deceit free way in. It would still be scary, but it could possibly come out as normal conversation. "You know a weird thing happened a few weeks a go - I don't know where it came from but I had this urge to wear ..." (you can probably come up with a phrase that better suits your exact situation).