PDA

View Full Version : Donating Blood.

BreenaDion
10-04-2010, 11:08 AM
I just contacted American Red Cross and asked if I could donate blood. Then I was quick to point out I take medications. She gave me a 1-866 number to call an see if this medication was exceptable. So I did call and gave a list of medication and told her I am A M2F Transsexual . They asked me 2 questions and I checked out ok. I then recalled the first number and got an appointment at my local hospital . That is just a few days away.

Question: Have any one here donated blood before while on HRT ? I am 56 an never did so I know donating helps to clean your blood by making new fresh blood. My last blood test came back fine . Best ive been in dacades, so I want to do the right thing.

Breena

StaceyJane
10-04-2010, 11:14 AM
While I was in the army I went to a special school to learn how to run a blood donor center. I never did much work collecting blood but I have a lot of experience issuing it for transfusion.
I can't donate blood in the U.S. because I lived in Europe for two years during the mid 90's and could possibly be exposed to mad cow disease.

Thank You for doing a really great service.

Stephenie S
10-04-2010, 12:01 PM
Unfortunately, the American Red Cross is still in the dark ages as far as qualifying donors. If there is ANY indication that you may be gay, you will be disqualified.

Interestingly enough, this does NOT apply to women.

Stephie

CharleneT
10-04-2010, 12:45 PM
The only HRT drug I know of that will disqualify you is Avodart. I'm not sure about Proscar/Propecia, likely they are also a no-no.

Persephone
10-04-2010, 01:26 PM
Thank you for being a blood donor, Breena! It is a wonderful thing to do.

There is an American Red Cross published list of medications that can effect your donation status and you can find it by clicking here (http://www.redcrossblood.org/donating-blood/eligibility-requirements/eligibility-criteria-topic).