PDA

View Full Version : Any pilots out there?

Aprilrain
11-09-2010, 11:49 AM
I am a pilot and I'm concerned about how the FAA deals with transition. Of course there is all the paperwork, name change and what not. I'm sure that is fairly straight forward however if I start hormones I'm afraid they will take issue with that as they are extremely conservative about medical issues especially medications. I've already had another medical issue with them that took about 2 years to sort out so I am not looking forward to their potential response. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Sharon
11-09-2010, 11:51 AM
I haven't any links to actual news articles, but I have read several times about major airline pilots who have transitioned.

Melody Moore
11-09-2010, 12:04 PM
See Sarah's Story here: http://ai.eecs.umich.edu/people/conway/TSsuccesses/Sarah.html

Kathryn Martin
11-09-2010, 12:15 PM
If hormones were an issue no woman could ever be a pilot. If you pass your medical there is no reason not to let you fly.

Traci Elizabeth
11-09-2010, 12:46 PM
I am a private pilot not commercial but I have not had any problems.

Currently my pilot's license does not match my gender or physical appearance but I can not change them until I legally change my name. But the physician who performed my last fight physical, did not bat an eye.

I use to fly rescue missions for the CAP in the left seat up to a couple years ago. We also had female natal pilots and that was never an issue and they were on some of the same medications I am on. In fact, several of the female pilots could out-fly us "older" pilots and performed better rescue grid patterns than we could ever hope to achieve.

Hope
11-09-2010, 05:28 PM