PDA

View Full Version : Coming out to your co-workers and family????????

Pinky188
12-22-2010, 11:19 PM
Im a mechanic. No one at my job knows about me and my "other" life. However, my Facebook profile pic is me as a girl. A pic from Halloween!!!! By now Im sure everyone gets the point. I have unfriended all of my co-workers though. Im wondering what my other friends and family are thinking. Also my friends of friends that I work with. That pic has been up for months now. What are my parents thinking? What about my girlfriends parents? No one is saying anything! Are they all ok with it? Or do they think its just a joke? Are they too freaked out to say anything???

Karren H
12-23-2010, 12:27 AM
I put a photo of a Zamboni on mine and no one freaked out and thought I was doing to start cleaning ice rinks!! Maybe no one has noticed or no one cares. It just a photo....

Nikki A.
12-23-2010, 10:56 AM
It's a Halloween photo and that's all they think it is. Unless u say somethig neither will anyone else. I'm in the car business too and I've dressed for Halloween 3 of the last six years (first time the girls in the office "coaxed" me and did my make-up). I get kidded sometimes but thats as far as it goes. Little do most of them know (one of the girls does) that I present as female year round in public.

sandra-leigh
12-23-2010, 12:29 PM
I came out last year to my mother and sister, but not to my more distant relatives. If I do come out to them, I'll probably write a couple of them privately first, and the rest aren't much more than acquaintances.

My co-workers is a different matter; with over 200 people working in my building, there would be a variety of reactions.