PDA

View Full Version : broke a nail! :(

Pinky188
12-30-2010, 08:03 PM
I just had to get this off my chest!!!! Thanks in advance for listening. I continually am breaking my nails working on these stupid cars day in and day out! Im sick of it! I want a new job!!!!

Jilmac
12-30-2010, 08:12 PM
I know the feeling Pinky! I'm a carpenter (retired but still doing side jobs)and my nails are as brittle as glass. My nails break even when I'm wearing gloves. Go figure!

herwannabe
12-30-2010, 08:38 PM
Yea I do construction too, and just about the time I get my nails to look half way decent they start breaking it really upsets me bigtime.

I usually have them painted clear and the other day one of my guys says ur nails sure look shiny u get a manicure? i just laughed it off, lol busted!

Karren H
12-30-2010, 08:57 PM
I used to too, even when I wore my mechanix gloves.... till I started taking vitamin D supplements! My nails are like talons now!! Just finished replacing the entire brake system on a 96 civic hb... Everything and not a chip.. Also uses a good nail strengthener helps. But when my Endo found I had a D deficiency and started me on supplements. I've been amazed!! So the real question is what's in your garage?

monica.missil
12-30-2010, 09:09 PM
Thats interesting Karen, I have the same condition. And working on copy machines all day, never am able to keep my nails long. So if taking my vitamin D is going to help my nails, great!

sissystephanie
12-30-2010, 09:11 PM
To answer Karren first, a Lincoln LS not very old! But I don't do auto work anymore, I have a great mechanic who does all that. However, my nails used to break real easily. My wife got me having acrylic nails to keep them from breaking! They look really nice and I haven't had a broken nail in years. And I do a lot of woodwork, besides selling insurance!

Pinky188
12-30-2010, 09:31 PM