PDA

View Full Version : Anybody have a CDL or drive for a living?

AlysonCD
02-10-2011, 09:42 PM
Is there anybody on here that drives a truck for a living? I'm (hopefully) about to start training to get my CDL at a local training course here. My main question is, do you dress while on the road? If so, how well are you able to? I'm not really concerned about whether or not I'm able to dress as if I do start driving, that job will be TONS better then what I do now. I just wanted to get another cd's advice. Thanks, and if this is in the wrong place, please move it to the appropriate place.

RADER
02-10-2011, 09:53 PM
I am a retired Carpenter, with a CDL for many years.
I drive a Dump Truck part time as a fill in for a small excavating company
near me. I do not dress when driving, but I do wear panties.
I am in and out of the truck 20 times a day at least, so trying to "get away"
with any dressing just does not make sense.
Good luck on your training. When backing up a trailer, remember to back up
the "Trailer", not the truck. Use the bottom of the steering wheel, pushing
it toward the way you want to go. Go slow, and you will catch on.
See if you can borrow a boat trailer or such to practice on. It will help you
to get the hang of backing. Always chuck your mirrors and trust your mirrors.
Rader

Wendy_Marie
02-10-2011, 09:53 PM
I have a CDL, Tanker, Air Brakes and HazMat endorsements....But I don't use it anymore. I still drive for a living but not in trucking. Good Luck.

sami1952
02-10-2011, 09:59 PM
i use to be an owner-operator til 2001.gave it up when i saw the trucking busniess was going all to hell.as far as dressing up i used to do all the time,but times are different and DOT has gotten stricker.more inspections and pull overs.i wouldn't it any more.

AlysonCD
02-10-2011, 10:23 PM
Rader

Thanks for the advice. I do own a horse trailer that I have to back up on a regular basis

Alberta_Pat
02-10-2011, 11:03 PM
I, too, am a "materials re-location technician".