PDA

View Full Version : Fingernail polish and the library.

Kelly DeWinter
03-23-2011, 03:12 PM
Ok, so whats wrong with being at the library in drab with bright red fingernail polish ? I've been here once a week with one color or another for the past 2 years and no one has had a problem until today ! (I teach free classes on budgeting) What gives ? Another patron (female - 30's) thought it was 'disruptive' and 'inappropriate' to a library class. I then gave her a list of 'disruptive' events.

Earthquake Japan
Tsunami Japan
Earthquake Jamacia
War Libya
Civil War Africa
AIDS World Over
Hunger World over.

I then told her her comments were 'inappropriate' . At which point she got up and left.

Kelly

P.S. I marked her absent for the class. LOL

kimdl93
03-23-2011, 03:14 PM
other than her remark, I fail to see that anything disruptive had occurred. Perhaps she found it distracting, but that was her problem, not yours.

suzy
03-23-2011, 03:15 PM
You go Kelly! I'm a teacher also and I applaud your style.... What's up with people these days anyway??

donnatracey
03-23-2011, 03:22 PM
Kelly, hopefully it will be at least another 2 years before it happens again. I think you handled the situation rather skillfully......:)

Julogden
03-23-2011, 03:29 PM
Nice job, Kelly! You handled it appropriately, IMO.

The nerve of some people! She's there for a free class and thinks it's alright to judge you when you're educating her for free? I guess she got a different sort of education than she'd planned on getting. :clap:

Carol

Bootsiegalore
03-23-2011, 03:40 PM
Maybe she was a part of that "Moral Majority" that knows what is best for everyone! HA! ............ Sarcasm intended!

Christie ann
03-23-2011, 03:53 PM
To use that tired cliche

You Go Girl

Alice B
03-23-2011, 03:54 PM
Good for you. She is someone you don't need in your class and she is very narrow minded.

sissystephanie
03-23-2011, 04:54 PM