PDA

View Full Version : The Funk

Danni Renee
05-15-2011, 06:01 AM
I have been very depressed lately-I call it being in a funk so as not to acknowledge that it is really depression. I have fought depression my whole life but lately the slightest of incidents can trigger it. I dislike my job, I dislike myself, and I am afraid of being a disappointment to my children and my parents. I have some very difficult things to do in the next couple of weeks and the ramifications of those actions will affect me and many others the rest of our lives. I hope nobody minds but I am going to sort of talk things out here as a little therapy.

As some of you may be aware I am in the military. Although I love being a Soldier, I hate my current assignment and job. I feel irrelevant and trivialized. I have been in the Military 19 years this month - I know what I am supposed to do but the priorities of my organization and what I think the priorities should be is constantly at odds causing me a lot of stress at work. Fortunately, I will be moving in a couple of months to the next job but it is a job I did not want at a location I did not want so I am not sure that there is an improvement in job satisfaction in my future.