PDA

View Full Version : guitar playing and long nails...

Jay Cee
06-02-2011, 11:32 PM
... are not a good combo. Any of you have to trim down the nails on your fret fingers in order to play well? Or do you have a trade secret that you would like to share?

Pythos
06-02-2011, 11:39 PM
I have my nails ultra short on my fretting hand. I find I cannot get the string to sing anywhere near correctly if I have just a small amount of nail. My strumming hand though can have some nailage. (that's a word). Then again I am only a beginner so someone with a bit more playing experience may indeed have a secret.

Kittykitty
06-02-2011, 11:40 PM
If you do a good job shapping them, they don't have to be long to look long.
That being said, sometimes mine get crazy. I've learned to play with a bit of an angle.

Persephone
06-03-2011, 01:53 AM
That is so funny! I don't play guitar but very often, when people notice my long nails, they ask me if I do! Apparently, the civilian assumption is that long nails aid in guitar playing!

KrystalA
06-03-2011, 05:14 AM
I've always kept my fingernails short since I started playing guitar many, many years ago. But I remember watching Charro (spl?) on tv once. She had VERY long nails and played awesome flamenco guitar. I've always wondered how she did that.

VioletJourney
06-03-2011, 05:25 AM
It takes practice to get it right. I remember another user on this site, 5150girl, saying she likes to shred EVH with long nails.

TxKimberly
06-03-2011, 06:34 AM
It's an either/or thing for me to - I either play guitar with short nails, or have long nails and dont play. I've watched Dolly Parton on TV trying to figure out how she plays with such long nails, and as far as I can tell, I think she uses alternative tunings that allow her to play a chord by laying a finger flat across all strings. In other words, I think she has her guitar tuned to play an E chord when all frets are open.