PDA

View Full Version : Should I now call you Jeri?

jeri1973
09-07-2011, 08:04 AM
This is the question my therapist asked me at my appointment yesterday. I was kind of taken by surprise but I have been seeing her for almost 3 months now and I have become very comfortable with her and being open to share my feelings about who I feel I really am.

This was the first person who just outright asked should they call me by my femme name and I realize that I have been using this name on this board for a couple of years, it is now coming to the point that the real me is about to come out completely and I think her question was in essence asking me if I was ready to be Jeri. I told her let me think about it and I will let her know at our next appointment.

I have thought about it all night and I must say that to her from now on I will be Jeri. After all that is who I really am on the inside. Maybe before to much longer she will get to meet Jeri fully decked out.

Thanks for the support of this board because without you all and your encouragement I could not be going down this road as easy as I am.

Have a great day,
Jeri.

Wendy_Marie
09-07-2011, 09:02 AM
We want things so badly for so long and yet we are still caught off guard by such a small thing...My current therapist didn't ever ask me this question...(I have been thorough two and am currently on my third as they rotate at the clinic I visit.) She walked in and after introductions by my former therapist...she told me, I am just going to call you Wendy from the beginning so there is no confusion between us.
My previous therapist seemed to avoid using my female name and occasionally stumbled on her words when referring to me as either a male or female...but she was such a sweet person and I could see she was really trying.