PDA

View Full Version : Had an interesting client today...

S. Lisa Smith
11-09-2011, 05:58 PM
I am an attorney. Over the years I have had a number of clients who are transexuals. Mostly they come to me for civil matters, but I do court appointed criminal work and my client today had a criminal problem. Today was a the second time I've met with her. She had never responded to my initial letter and the first time I met with her was in court last week. At that time she was dressed in an androgynous manner. She was wearing trendy torn jeans a top and looked pretty bad. She had nail polish on that was in terrible shape, but I could tell that she was either a transexual or a cross dresser who was dressing en drab. (Still don't know her status.) That part was good since the warrant was taken out in her male name obviously and the judge we were going before doesn't have much patience... The case was continued to so she could get some information which would help her case. (If she had called me when I sent her the letter, we could have had it the first time, but nooooo....) I read her the riot act about how she was dressed and said, like I always do, come dressed like you were going to church.

Fast forward to today. She shows up dressed in a skirt, pretty top, high heels, necklace, the whole nine yards. She looked great, but it wasn't the look I was hoping for. :doh: I expected the worst from the judge, but he was amazingly cool. Although he convicted her, he allowed her to remain on bond pending the appeal. I was expecting him to revoke her bond, but he didn't.