PDA

View Full Version : HRT Questions Ref: Health, Success and Afraid

Koka
11-18-2011, 11:50 AM
Good morning wonderful people!:bighug2:

I have started my HRT about 1 1/2 month ago. I am on Estradiol and Finasteride. Although part of me is very happy about it and with the support of my therapist affirming that I am indeed a transgender woman, I feel sort of comfortable doing it, however; there is a part of me that keeps haunting me and injecting doubt about continuing with the HRT process. See, I live a very holistic lifestyle, I am 41 yo, I am a yoga instructor, vegetarian and exercise all the time. I live a very healthy lifestyle, don't smoke, don't drink, meditate twice a day, go to sleep early and the like. I have never been in any kind of medication ever, my lab results came all clean, my doctor even joked about me needing some junk food so I can raise my bad cholesterol levels, my liver is in great condition (reason he prescribed injections instead of pills as to bypass liver). In other words, I am very healthy person and when I started taking the hormones, I immediately started feeling so guilty about it, I started taking Spironolactone (very low dose) and it really put my body upside down (dizziness, headaches, etc), thank God doctor changed me to Finasteride and I now feel much better. Anyway, this part of me is not really letting me enjoy the process and keeps bugging me in the back of my mind about all the risks and the bad I am doing to my body. I have mentioned it to my therapist and although she said there are risks like with other every medicine in the world, my problem resides in the lifestyle I have and the concepts of having a pure clean, healthy body. Another friend of mine who also happens to be on HRT, she said that it sounds as if I am giving excuses to myself to find a way out of it. I cannot deny that sometimes I am afraid of what is going to happen in the future. I know transitioning is a VERY important decision and it should not be taken