PDA

View Full Version : I know transgender laws protect us from being fired, but what about contracts?

Melissa Jill
12-27-2011, 02:27 AM
Im currently on a 12 month contract. Apparently at the moment the company Im with are looking to make all contracts permanent, but Im worried that if in a few months I come out that Im trans they may not renew my contract just because they don't want the hassle (to be honest, who can blame them). At a guess I would say I have no legal leg to stand on as they have absolutely zero obligation to extend my contract. But I thought it best I ask here first.

GemmaB
12-27-2011, 02:47 AM
As far as I know the company would not be under any obligation to rehire you after the contract has finished. As the contract is over a new one needs to be set up with its own conditions.
However, that is not to say that they would not rehire you! they may be more open minded than you think.

(Im no lawyer, but have done a short course on contract law)

Melody1985
12-27-2011, 03:38 AM
They may be open minded...

But unless it's absolutely necessary to come out, I don't see why you would want to or feel you have to. (Unless you are about to undergo surgery, or doing something that will make it obvious like going full time).

Other than that, I don't see why it would be necessary in a contract based environment.

jillleanne
12-27-2011, 08:21 AM