PDA

View Full Version : on not choosing the WRONG name

sandra-leigh
02-11-2012, 12:51 PM
I've been pondering names for a few years, considering the possibility of changing my name legally. Finding the "right" name isn't easy, but what I find somehow more frustrating is the task of avoiding the wrong name.

It can't be my grandmothers' name, or my mother or sister, or my aunts' or cousins' or cousins' spouses, or my closer second cousins.

It can't be anyone who is close friends with my mother. Or of anyone my mother had significantly bad experiences with.

Better if it isn't the same name as anyone at work, or their spouse. Or my friends or their spouses. Ideally it shouldn't be the same as any of the TG/TS gals I know myself or who are better known in our local community. I don't want to be seen as copying or "imitating" them. For the work-related names, I worry about being seen as being "creepy", or making people feel uncomfortable about having me associated with them.

One name that I have been favoring is also the name of a now-deceased neighbor. That's a bit of a glitch, but we got along quite well and I do not imagine she would be upset at being remembered. But after having had that name on the list for a few years now, I just realized a few days ago that it is the same name as one of our contractors who works at our home most days. So that name will have to be eliminated.

Another name I gave some consideration to, I realized was the same name as a woman I worked with 20 years ago during a high stress time at the organization... some not so pleasant memories associated with the name.

It feels as if every time I encounter or think of a potential name, 15 seconds later I'm thinking, "No, I can't use that, that one's taken, it was the name of ...." :sad:

Sigh.

Michelle.M
02-11-2012, 01:03 PM
. . . Finding the "right" name isn't easy, but what I find somehow more frustrating is the task of avoiding the wrong name.