PDA

View Full Version : Gender Identity

AKAB
03-20-2012, 02:19 PM
Hi guys, I hope this is the right place to ask this question and I hope I don't offend anyone!

For my coursework I'm studying a bit on childhood development and how it shapes our gender identity. According to Doctor of Medicine, Shuvo Gosh, he said that we begin to find our gender identity usually between the ages 2-5 (on a subconscious level) so I am hoping to find out when does it become conscious. Therefore I was wondering if anyone could inform me at what age did you begin to realise that you were in fact transgender?

I hope this all makes sense and I look forward to your replies. :thanx:

elizabethamy
03-20-2012, 02:25 PM
I'm the 2% that will blow up your study. Age 54 for me. But you'll probably find the vast majority before age 14, though 2-5 might be a bit early for some. THere's a great study called "Lives of Transgendered Individuals" (a book by Beemyn and Rankin) that can tell you a lot about how it works for carefully studied populations of transgenders. good luck!

StaceyJane
03-20-2012, 02:42 PM
I know I wanted to be a girl when I was 5 years old in kindergarten.

kimdl93
03-20-2012, 02:49 PM
I'd say that gender identity begins to express itself in those preschool years, but that its expression is coming from someplace much earlier in development. That being said, the earliest, most powerful and most enduring memories of my life are my thoughts about dressing up in my older sister's clothes. I know I was about 3 years old at the time, because I shared a bedroom with her at that point.

Melody Moore
03-20-2012, 03:15 PM
I knew I felt like an alien trying to fit in when I went to kindergarten around the age of 4,
I felt stuck in this no man's land between male & female and like I really didn't belong with
either group for different reasons. I just didn't want to go near boys and because I was a
boy I didn't fit with the girls although I would have much preferred to hang out with them.