PDA

View Full Version : Working for a transphobic company?

Frances
03-24-2012, 09:02 AM
Hi all,
I am currently looking for a new work opportunity (I am a translator) and have been doing interviews with a few companies. I interviewed last week for Anthropology, who wants to open stores in Quebec. Since I am generally stealth and have changed all of my personal information including my diplomas, I don't feel the need to tell the people that interview me that I am trans. When I came home, I researched Anthropology and Urban Outfitters, its parent company, and came across this:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/19/urban-outfitters-tranny-greeting-card_n_1364589.html

I did more some research to see if it was a hoax, but it looks like it is not. I found other information about the CEO or UO that made me queazy. The career opportunity was very interesting, but I don't know if I can work for a company who would put out this product.

What would you do?

LeannL
03-24-2012, 09:21 AM
Frances,

It is a tough call between eating and avoiding a bad work environment. Not taking a job with them is, unfortunately, not going to make them change their ways. On the other hand, if the corporate stupidity doesn't affect the local job you may take, then it won't affect you either. I assume that you have no intention to disclose your past. So I guess it really comes down to your ability to bite your tongue if they get crazy with the transphobic stuff again and you need to keep the job.

This probably didn't help much but good luck anyway,

Leann

mbmeen12
03-24-2012, 10:24 AM
Do you need a job, or you want a job? You could take the position, then you may look again when in a better financial position... I went to the link (dam fools), maybe you could replace the idiots who approved that merchandise?

Frances
03-24-2012, 10:36 AM