PDA

View Full Version : What to do?

jamie_44
03-30-2012, 01:19 PM
Hey all, I have been living as female or 3 years now and am wondering how some of you handle the employment situation.....I came out on my job then they closed the joint...unemplyed for over year...my profession is male dominated...I know I was discriminated agianst ..found work...got laid off...looking again....getting so tired of fighting the "system".....anyway I just need to vent and would love some feedback......

Dawn cd
03-30-2012, 01:57 PM
It's difficult to offer advice without knowing your profession, your experience, and the culture of the area where you work. But it occurs to me that if you can handle gender transition, you should be able to handle a change in professions. Any chance you could find a different sort of work?

sandra-leigh
03-30-2012, 02:58 PM
But it occurs to me that if you can handle gender transition, you should be able to handle a change in professions. Any chance you could find a different sort of work?

The idea is nice, but for some of us, what we do is what we are.

Imagine, for example, that you are a relatively known painter "because you have to be", because it flows through you. Switching to be (say) a real-estate sales-person might not be feasible for you, because no matter where you go, you are still a painter.

What I "am", what flows through me, covers computers (and technology), and science. I couldn't even become a nail tech without getting my name all over the nail tech forums, organizing information and making reference to research papers. The leopard cannot hide its stripes.

Elizabeth Ann
03-30-2012, 03:12 PM
The leopard cannot hide its stripes.

Was this humor?

My wife thinks I have long-term ADD. I seem to get bored with anything after about 5 years.

Liz

noeleena
03-31-2012, 05:15 AM
Hi ,

Spos i come with a different background meaning i can turn my hand to many different jobs