PDA

View Full Version : speech therapist

Bunny Girl Zoe
05-18-2012, 11:14 AM
Received letter today for my first appointment to speech therapist for early next month and can't wait to start training my voice to sound more female so match with how I look.

Rianna Humble
05-18-2012, 11:23 AM
Congratulations, Zoe! I've been attending Speech therapy for a few months now and it is working wonders for me.

At the start, my therapist measured what he called my "modal pitch" (that's the pitch my voice naturally reverted to when I was not making an effort) and I came out at 80Hz which is about 10 Hz below the bottom of the average male voice range. Last time, we re-measured and I was able to sustain around 160Hz which he felt was a good female pitch for me. It still takes some work, but that's far and away better than I had managed without help.

Do let us know how you get on.

Aprilrain
05-18-2012, 12:35 PM
No need to wait, just start doing it! its all about practice and just doing it. going full time helps with this as there is never a time when you will want to revert back which just hampers your progress!

Bunny Girl Zoe
05-18-2012, 02:57 PM
Just over two weeks to appointment be good to sound female when open mouth. Rianna sounds like you getting nice results as fairly big jump.

Rianna Humble
05-18-2012, 04:26 PM
If I can do it, so can you!

Amber Anderson
05-18-2012, 04:56 PM
speech is my #1 fear when I go out, I open my mouth and give myself away ever time

Bunny Girl Zoe
05-18-2012, 06:02 PM
speech is my #1 fear when I go out, I open my mouth and give myself away ever time

One the biggest give a ways that' for sure.

Jorja
05-18-2012, 06:17 PM
Just wait until you stub your toe wearing sandals. :D Which voice do you think will come out?

Stephanie-L
05-18-2012, 07:37 PM