PDA

View Full Version : Silly to be concerned, but...

MissVictoria
07-05-2012, 03:49 PM
6 weeks ago today, I broke my ankle on both sides. I go to the dr. tomorrow for my 6 week follow up and to get the go-ahead for beginning physical therapy. I haven't been in a cast at all: after surgury, I had a splint for a week, and nerve damage concerns that prevented the dr. from casting me. I have fairly good up and down movement, limited side to side and no weight bearing yet. My concern stems from my ability to wearing my heels in the future. I have over 50 pairs of heels, all 3.5" and higher, and are, IMO, the single most fun aspect in my cding. Has anyone broken their ankle, and successfully traipsed around in CFM heels after therapy? My feet look far to large in anything shorter than 3.5", and flats are of absolutely no interest to me. Please alleviate my concerns.

StephanieC
07-05-2012, 04:07 PM
Well, I'm not a doctor, no family member is a doctor, and I have not played one on TV. However, I can relate my recent experience. I recently found out I have arthritis in my big toe. The doctor described a treatment and never mentioned inability to wear heels (eventually). One doctor talked about a "sandal" for a short time until it healed, the other talked about a boot...just until it healed. One did mention that if that did not work, they could "fuse" the two bone which would mean no heels...but only because the bone would not bend.

Silly man, doesn't know the pain women will endure.

So assuming you will heal, I don't think you need to worry. Believe me, once those bones mend, they are pretty sturdy. Nerves or blood vessels might be another story.

Good luck on your recovery.

-stephani

darla_g
07-05-2012, 04:13 PM
I have been through exactly what you have described. Surgery and then I was on crutches for 6 weeks and the only advice I can give you is to get physical therapy (PT) after you get off crutches. It makes a world of difference in your recovery.