PDA

View Full Version : Not your fathers typical American family....

ReneeT
12-03-2012, 07:47 PM
I have mentioned in previous posts that I have found a church that really meets my spiritual needs in an open and accepting way - I became an official member about a month ago and have become quite involved socially as well. I have made many good friends, mostly LGBT, but some straight too.

This past Sunday was the first Sunday of Advent, and a gay man that I have become somewhat close with asked me if I would join him, his 24 yo single daughter and her 4 yo son in lighting the first Advent candle during service. And do a reading and lead a prayer! Now I have never done anything in church before accept attend - never have I had any sort of active role, and certainly not in a skirt and heels!. So of course I said yes! So there we were, a gay man, a transexual woman, an unwed mother, and her child, representing the family of God! What a sight! I can tell you with certainty that this was occurring in no other church in Chattanooga, TN last weekend!

This is what I wore...I have never worn red lipsitick before - i kinda like it!

MsRenee
12-03-2012, 07:53 PM
You look great. I love goinv to church its so uplifting I had several attendees aproaxh me with all sorr of questions for which i was glad to answer. Its as much a learning for them as well as us. Just because its a church shouldnt stop anyone.
Renee

kristinacd55
12-03-2012, 08:01 PM
Good for you Renee....however you can connect to the Higher Power is awesome!

rachaelsloane
12-03-2012, 08:04 PM
You're looking good there girl and glad to hear things are falling into place.

oh hey its anya
12-03-2012, 10:02 PM
So there we were, a gay man, a transexual woman, an unwed mother, and her child, representing the family of God!

I imagine God would consider this perfect. Bravo! <3

SuzanneBender
12-03-2012, 10:13 PM