PDA

View Full Version : What are you doing New Year's

Lorileah
12-23-2012, 01:41 AM
New Years eve?

I know what I will be doing and a year ago it would have seemed impossible.

I used to tend bar for the veteran's club I belong to. I gave it up over a year ago when the combination of the manager of the bar,the same band every time playing music I don't like, lack of decent tips (6 hours-20$...uh no) and the fact that I still do work for a living...sort of...kind of, and closing at 2 AM and then having to be at work at 8:30 really wasn't a lot of fun. They found others to replace me.

Well the manager was sent packing after he was exposed as an ass (insulting female member by calling the slu*s...well that was the last straw). When he went the band did too. tips? well they are what they are when you serve this crowd. Hours still suck, but the new bar manager asked me to work New Year's Eve. Hey, I am single so it wasn't a big deal.

Last night was the monthly birthday dance. I don't usually go there either but one of our members works for FEMA and he got 6 days off (and that is literal, he has worked everyday since 11/4) so we combined a welcome home party. And I told them I was coming as Lori (yes they all know there are posts that tell that story). I was joking with the bar manager about being Lori the night I was working. He said it was a good idea. I still wasn't serious. But the guy who is working with me that night said "Hey quit thinking about yourself...think about me." I told him I was joking but he added "No, think about me, Lori will make us a lot more tips". So, what can I get ya pal? Top shelf? Lori will be working the bar New Year's eve (if I can find my flats. The rubber mat has quarter size holes in it.)Even if it isn't a good paying gig it will be fun.:cheers: