PDA

View Full Version : Crossdressing is an addiction, no different from any other?

_Janelle_
12-02-2005, 02:30 PM
I am a relative newbie to this site, and it has really helped me to learn about myself and accept myself for who I am. In the course of all of this, and reading a lot of the other threads, one thing has really sort of startled me. And that is the fact that the desire to crossdress can be so strong, that it's importance outweighs just about anything else in that persons life.
So I started reading a little about addiction. Certainly there have been posts about how addicting it is, but these are really in a light hearted manner. There are also threads about CDers having a higher propensity to be addicted to alochol/drugs etc.
It does come as a quite unreal surprise, just how much some people are willing to give up to maintain their desire to CD, and how much strife it causes in their life. So with that in mind I checked up on some stuff about addiction. Most of this is cut and pasted from other websites, and none of it mentions CDing.

Definition of addiction: A medical definition of addiction is hard to pin down. But most of us feel like we know what it means: doing something you can't stop, even though it interferes with daily living and good relationships. It's something that controls you, despite good intentions to stop it.

People are considered chemically dependent if they meet three of the following criteria over 12 months...
1. A need for more of the substance to "feel good" or achieve intoxication
2. Using more of the substance than usual, or for longer than intended
3. A continued desire for the substance or unsuccessful attempts to cut down or stop using it
4. Spending a lot of time to obtain, use or recover from the substance
5. Giving up or cutting back on important social, work-related or recreational activities
6. Continuing to use the substance even though it's causing problems

Addictive behaviors