PDA

View Full Version : Question open to everybody regarding elderly care.

Tibby
01-13-2013, 07:04 PM
Not sure where is the best place to ask this as I can't find a forum to ask a general question to all concerned so mod's please feel free to move.

I have many years experience working in health care and have discussed an idea with my husband for a future venture I would like to do, he is in full support but I need to do some market research into the viability of the idea.

As it stands residential care for the elderly (in the UK) is provided on a geneal basis, where all elderly people can be placed in a home or cared for wthin their own home, they may be given a preference as to the gender of the carer but are not given a choice about the carer's peference to them. A carer is expected to provide care in an unbiased way but may refuse to provide care for a person if they deem inappropriate. You may request a carer dress you in a certain way but they do not need to agree if they feel uncomfortable at the request.

Many of you here may not be of retirement age or needing assistance with care yet but what happens when you do reach that stage? Are you still going to be able to have the choice and dignity to dress as you want or would you be expected to conform to how society views you?

I am considering (in the future) setting up a care provision aimed at transgender, to cover crossdressing, gender reassignment, transexxual etc, where the person is given the freedom to continue their natural life in the way they should, cared for by people who accept and actively assist in this.

The question is would this be an area of care provision which is needed? Would you prefer to have care provided by carers who are transgender, CD etc? Would you choose to enter a care provision aimed specifically for you or would you prefer to be cared for in a general care provision?