PDA

View Full Version : From tolerance to acceptance...

Deedee Skyblue
05-24-2013, 05:35 AM
Since I joined this forum I've learned a lot about the difference between tolerance and acceptance. I've always been 'tolerant' - I'm not one to comment negatively on someone because that someone is different, or just because I disapprove of some behavior (unless it is illegal or causes pain to someone else - hard to keep quiet about those). But I haven't really always been 'accepting'.

But I'm learning better. There is no such thing as 'normal' and nobody deserves to be 'tolerated' but not 'accepted' for being different than the theoretical normal. In the last 3 days, I have complimented a couple of people for things I would never have believed I'd accept, a year ago.

I'm still learning... there are still some things I don't want to, but they don't hurt me. One of the good things about the internet is, if you don't like something, you don't have to look at it - there is lots of other stuff to look at. I am amazed at how many people join a discussion forum (not this one, btw) and then complain about the forum all the time. Go somewhere else! Well, for me, here is the somewhere else.

Deedee

barbaraclothes
05-24-2013, 05:50 AM
well put Deedee, couldn t agree more.

Beverley Sims
05-24-2013, 09:15 AM
Once you get past toleration, acceptance is easy.

luca
05-24-2013, 11:47 AM
I like to think that I am accepting of a lot of people, particularly because I had to learn to accept my family, but the more I am learning about what I want the more I see that I hardly tolerate who I am (let alone accept myself). This makes exploring my needs so hard for both me and my SO since I can hardly voice my wants or needs, almost as if I am waiting for permission before I even try and ask anything. I just joined the site because I saw what good these conversations were doing for my SO and I wanted to find a way to accept who I am and learn how to voice what I want or need because of it.