PDA

View Full Version : Crossdressers and the VA.

Sandieland
07-19-2013, 10:27 AM
I'm an Army veteran and get all my medical care through the VA. However, no one knows about my crossdressing - even my doctor. I would like to speak with a therapist at the VA about this (and my growing urge to become more female), but I first have to tell my doctor (to request therapy) and I don't know how this would affect my medical care overall. Does anyone have any experience with this within the VA system, and how they accept or don't accept crossdressers and/or the transgendered?

Lorileah
07-19-2013, 10:37 AM
government benefits would cover this for you. There are a few here who go to the VA dressed all the time

natalie_cheryl
07-19-2013, 11:44 AM
i talked with a therypist at the VA here in mass once an she was very accepting and more than willing to help me find someone in the network to be a more regular person to talk with it was nice to know that they are as accepting as they were. i haven't gone back yet but plan to

Leah Lynn
07-19-2013, 12:16 PM
I had a physical a couple weeks ago, and talked to the dr. about it. She made some calls, and now I'm waiting to find out when my appts. are. Yay, VA!

Leah

Sabrina133
07-19-2013, 01:20 PM
Hi Sandie,

Am also an Army Vet. When i got out of the service, i began to see a therapist and an endo through the VA. Just let your physician know you'd like to see a therapist and why. They will set you up.

Bree

BOBBI G.
07-20-2013, 04:50 AM
Your doctor will refer you. I know a couple transgendered women and have been told by them the VA also furnishes their medications and does the monitoring as well, all in house.

Bobbi

Allison Chaynes
07-20-2013, 08:33 PM
Get to know your local veteran's advocate office also, if your local VA is like mine, you might have a few people give you trouble about being TG. They can help deal with those people.

Sabrina133
07-20-2013, 08:36 PM